Macmillan Publishers

Macmillan Publishers Ltd is an international publishing company owned by Holtzbrinck Publishing Group. It has offices in 41 countries worldwide and operates in more than thirty others.HistoryMacmillan was founded in 1843 by Daniel and Alexander Macmillan, two brothers from the Isle of Arran, Scotland. Daniel was the business brain, while Alexander laid the literary foundations, publishing such notable authors as Charles Kingsley (1855), Thomas Hughes (1859), Francis Turner Palgrave (1861), Christina Rossetti (1862), Matthew Arnold (1865) and Lewis Carroll (1865). Alfred Tennyson joined the list in 1884, Thomas Hardy in 1886 and Rudyard Kipling in 1890.Other major writers published by Macmillan included W. B. Yeats, Rabindranath Tagore, Nirad C. Chaudhuri, Seán O'Casey, John Maynard Keynes, Charles Morgan, Hugh Walpole, Margaret Mitchell, C. P. Snow, Rumer Godden and Ram Sharan Sharma.

Company Growth (employees)
New York, US
Size (employees)
2,041 (est)+2%
Macmillan Publishers was founded in 1843 and is headquartered in New York, US

Macmillan Publishers Office Locations

Macmillan Publishers has office in New York
New York, US

Macmillan Publishers Metrics

Macmillan Publishers Summary

Founding Date


Macmillan Publishers Online Presence

Macmillan Publishers News

Macmillan Publishers Company Life

You may also be interested in